The Beginning

How the Journey Begun


Back in the days when I was working in Ecuador, I had a lot of time on my hands during weekends.  With no family and very little friends around, I spend those days between two of my favorite hobbies: photograph and reading.  I do not remember exactly how it was, but the book Gemba Kaizen from Masaaki Imai was on my hands and I start reading it.  I was wondering if such a thing as lean manufacturing exists or if it was just another pitfall to take money from companies already in trouble.

I was not looking for a job but when I received a call from my hometown in Puerto Rico to work as Process Engineer just fifteen minutes away from my house, I could not believe how lucky I was.  After a phone interview I was invited to the company for an interview in person and it was right there when all my enthusiasm for coming back home was smashed with a simple question:  What is Lean Manufacturing?

I was trying to squeeze my brain to remember the exact words from the book I was reading two weeks ago to be able to give a firm answer that would make my interviewer believe that I knew something about it.  I am not a good lier so I decided to tell the truth, that I start reading about it but I never work with it and I have no idea how to implement it.  Being an industrial engineer and quality practitioner, I had strong ideas and skills about continuous improvement so I talked about how all those skills, my taste for challenges and being autodidact would help me to learn and implement Lean.  I got the job, I guess that the mix between my passion for learn new things and make a difference along with my honesty impressed my former boss enough to give me the chance.

That happen a little more than ten years ago, the minute I signed my acceptance letter, my lean manufacturing journey begun.  Still I have no clue how each new training or event would be, if I will be successful in changing peoples way of thinking and act; but I keep doing it with more or less success.  I do not pretend to be a teacher to nobody, through this posts I just want to share my experiences hoping that I will help somebody;  and also my questions and doubts hoping that somebody outthere helps me.

Leave a Reply

